Virginia Marijuana Laws

Updated May 2020

While adult-use cannabis remains illegal in Virginia, the state does have in place a limited medical cannabis program accessible to patients who obtain a recommendation from a physician. Learn more about Virginia marijuana laws below.

Recreational Marijuana in Virginia

Is marijuana legal in Virginia? No. However, in April 2020, Gov. Ralph Northam signed a decriminalization bill into law to lower the penalty for simple marijuana possession to a civil penalty. Under the law, possession of up to one ounce of marijuana is punishable by a $25 fee with no threat of jail time or a criminal record. Previously, possession of marijuana in any amount was a misdemeanor.

With the passage of the law, Virginia became the 27th state to decriminalize marijuana and eliminate the threat of jail time for possessing small amounts. The law takes effect on July 1, 2020.

Medical Marijuana in Virginia

Over recent years, Virginia has established and advanced patient-focused medical cannabis policies.

In early 2015, the state passed a highly conservative low-THC medical cannabis laws. The law only allowed for an affirmative defense against prosecution for individuals who have intractable epilepsy, or guardians of those suffering from intractable epilepsy, so long as the product they’re in possession of is a cannabis extract that contains no more than 5 percent THC. Despite this law providing a legal defense, products derived from marijuana remained illegal in the state.

Since then, Virginia has expanded its medical cannabis program. In March 2018, Gov. Ralph Northam signed a bill expanding the program to include patients with any condition that practitioners believe would benefit from cannabis, not just those diagnosed with epilepsy. In March 2019, the governor signed a bill (SB 1557) that allows Virginians to obtain a certificate for use of THC-A and other cannabinoid products from a doctor, physician assistant, or licensed nurse practitioner. The new law also expanded the type of accessible products to include oils, capsules, lozenges, patches, lollipops, and more. The bill also ups the cap on amounts of THC within each serving of a THC-A product to 10 mg.

Consumption of CBD Hemp Oil in Virginia

Hemp-derived CBD products are legal under Federal Law in the United States; however, individual state laws are dynamic and fluid. Individual states may enact their own laws governing hemp-derived CBD.

Cultivation and Distribution of Cannabis in Virginia

The cultivation of cannabis for personal or medicinal use is illegal in Virginia.

In 2015, the legislature of Virginia did pass Senate Bill 955, which allows for the cultivation of industrial hemp as part of a university-managed research program. Universities in Virginia may work with the state’s Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services to establish industrial hemp research programs.

Legal Status of Other U.S. States

Stay up to date on the latest state legislation, referendums, and public opinion polls. Our Marijuana Legalization Map allows you to browse the current status of medical and recreational marijuana laws in other U.S. states and territories.


DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this website is for general information purposes only; it does not constitute legal advice. Although we endeavor to keep the information up to date and correct, we make no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, about the completeness, accuracy, reliability, suitability or availability with respect to the website or the information, products, services, or related graphics contained on the website for any purpose. Therefore, any reliance you place on such information is strictly at your own risk.