Rhode Island Marijuana Laws

Updated September 2019

Rhode Island has already become one of the more progressive states in regard to marijuana policy reform. The state has a strong medical marijuana program in place and has decriminalized simple possession of recreational marijuana. Learn more about Rhode Island marijuana laws below.

Recreational Marijuana in Rhode Island

Like many of the more progressive states, Rhode Island has decriminalized possession of small amounts of marijuana for individuals 18 years and older. Those caught with less than 1 ounce are subject only to a $150 fine, with no possibility of incarceration or record of a crime being committed. Possession of more than 1 ounce up to 1 kilogram is still a misdemeanor, but possession of greater amounts is considered “intent to distribute” and charged as a felony. Unregistered cultivation and sale of any amount of marijuana are also felonies.

Medical Marijuana in Rhode Island

Medical marijuana has been legal in Rhode Island since January 3rd of 2006, after state lawmakers overturned Gov. Don Carcieri’s veto of Senate Bill 710. The law allows patients with approved conditions to register with the state and legally possess up to 2.5 ounces of usable marijuana. Under the law, patients are also legally allowed to cultivate up to 12 plants and 12 seedlings.

In July 2016, Gov. Gina Raimondo signed a law expanding the medical marijuana list of approved conditions to include post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD). In October 2018, the Department of Health announced that Rhode Island families can now access medical marijuana to treat autism.

There are currently three medical marijuana dispensaries, referred to as compassion centers, operating in Rhode Island.

Medical marijuana is now approved for the following conditions:

  • Alzheimer’s Disease
  • Autism
  • Cachexia or Wasting Syndrome
  • Cancer
  • Crohn’s Disease
  • Glaucoma
  • Hepatitis C
  • Multiple Sclerosis
  • Post-traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
  • Severe, Debilitating or Chronic Pain
  • Seizure Disorders and Epilepsy
  • Severe and Persistent Muscle Spasms
  • Severe Nausea

CBD from Hemp Oil in Rhode Island

Hemp-derived CBD products are legal under Federal Law in the United States; however, individual state laws are dynamic and fluid. Individual states may enact their own laws governing hemp-derived CBD.

Cultivation and Distribution of Cannabis in Rhode Island

The cultivation of cannabis for personal or medical purposes is still a serious crime in Pennsylvania. Growing just 1 or 2 plants is a misdemeanor that can warrant a jail sentence of 6 months to 2 years and fines of $500 to $2000.

In July 2016, Gov. Raimondo signed House Bill 8232, which legalized the production and processing of industrial hemp for commercial purposes in the state. The bill was to initially only applyto state-licensed representatives of the Narragansett Indian Tribe, but was eventually amended to apply to all Rhode Island residents. The bill went into effect January 1, 2017.

Legal Status of Other U.S. States

Stay up to date on the latest state legislation, referendums, and public opinion polls. Our Marijuana Legalization Map allows you to browse the current status of medical and recreational marijuana laws in other U.S. states and territories.


DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this website is for general information purposes only; it does not constitute legal advice. Although we endeavor to keep the information up to date and correct, we make no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, about the completeness, accuracy, reliability, suitability or availability with respect to the website or the information, products, services, or related graphics contained on the website for any purpose. Therefore, any reliance you place on such information is strictly at your own risk.